Human Energy Powers Japanese Subway Station

With the vast U.S. subway systems on the East Coast, this could be an excellent energy-saving solution metropolitan transportation authorities should explore.

 

With human foot traffic the most easily available energy, this new power source has been installed in the flooring in what’s commonly believed to be the busiest subway station in the world.
Energy Generating Floor System demonstrated at Tokyo Station

Energy Generating Floor System demonstrated at Tokyo Station

In the latest drive to harness alternative energy, the East Japan Railway Company (JR East) has installed a revolutionary new piezoelectric energy generating flooring in their Tokyo subway station.JR East recently converted the floor covering from rubber to stone tiles. The total floor space utilized for this power-generating system now encompasses approximately 25 square meters. The company estimates generating around 1,400 kilowatts per day from the system, enough energy to power all the station’s systems.This system will collect the kinetic energy generated by subway travelers entering the turnstile and will power ticket gates and electric displays.

3 Responses

  1. Outstanding. I agree.

  2. Hi I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Digg for
    something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a
    all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

    • Thanks for your kind words. So glad you found my blog! Come back regularly – and tell your friends and colleagues!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 459 other followers

